PRESIDENT'S LETTER: Horticulturist of the Year

By Karen England.

Because this year has been, was, is the worst year ever in so many regards, the board decided to delay the presentation of the Horticulturist of the Year Award for 2020 until next year. We picked a worthy recipient months ago but decided in all fairness to everyone to put off the award until 2021 so that the honoree will get a full year of the honor. This means that Jim Bishop is getting a "leap year" of sorts honor and 2020 is being added to his 2019 HOY status.

Horticulturalist of the Year Roster - San Diego Horticultural Society

2020 - 2021 Who will it be? Find out in January 2021

2019 - 2020 Jim Bishop

2018 - Greg Rubin

2017 - Debra Lee Baldwin

2016 - Horticulturalists of the San Diego Zoo, past and present

2015 - Kathy Puplava

2014 - Julian Duval

2013 - Brad Monroe

2012 - Susi Torre-Bueno

2011 - Jon P. Rebman

2010 - Bruce and Sharon Asakawa

2009 - Steve Brigham

2008 - Chuck Ades

2007 - Bill Nelson

2006 - Jane A. Minshall

2005 - Don Walker

2004 - Vince Lazaneo

2003 - Pat Welsh

2002 - Walter Anderson

2001 - Evelyn Weidner

2000 - Edgar Engert

1999 - Charles Ledgerwood

1998 - Sinjen

1997 - Charles Coburn

1996 - Chuck Kline

In the meantime, as we wait for the world to return to some kind of normalcy here's a bit from the archives about the previous recipients of the San Diego Horticultural Society's Horticulturist of the Year.


Our Mission  To inspire and educate the people of San Diego County to grow and enjoy plants, and to create beautiful, environmentally responsible gardens and landscapes.


Our Vision   To champion regionally appropriate horticulture in San Diego County.

  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2020 San Diego Horticultural Society